Makoto Ozone


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An improvement on his debut set as a leader, this Columbia album finds pianist Makoto Ozone playing three quartet numbers with Bill Pierce (who doubles on tenor and soprano), bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Tommy Campbell, a trio cut without Pierce, a duet with Gomez and two unaccompanied piano solos. Ozone's seven originals feature tight interplay between the musicians, some fire contributed by Pierce, and a display of more diverse moods than his earlier album.

blue highlight denotes track pick