Cornish in a Turtleneck

A Collection of 20 Songs About Booties

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Tim Schreiber, the singer of Michigan's Cornish in a Turtleneck, released a 20-song disc entitled A Collection of 20 Songs About Booties in 2000. On the disc, Schreiber's youthful and eccentric musical charisma creates a playful collection of sounds reminiscent of Ween. The disc quickly became a hit at Michigan universities, with its warped and hypnotic songs about the human posterior. Songs on the topic had already been released by a wealth of rap musicians, most notably Sir Mix-a-Lot's "Baby's Got Back." These hip-hop-influenced songs were a dramatic leap from Schreiber's work in Cornish in a Turtleneck, which generally experimented with psychedelic pop sounds. The disc is a classic example of the effect of home-recording technology on independent music in the late '90s and early '00s. Each song is short, rarely taking the song beyond its simple theme and song structure. "Wave Yo' Booty in the Air" starts off the disc, complete with synthesizers, drum machines, and Schreiber's digitally altered vocals. While the songs aren't extremely diverse musically or lyrically, the attitude is infectious and whimsical. While the sexual connotations are often vulgar and lewd, the unique aspect of this disc is the rarity of such an approach in the indie rock community. The disc actually has 21 songs, finishing with "Special Booty Remix." The song, like many of the tracks, utilizes dance beats mixed with Schreiber's frantic vocal delivery. It was mixed by Ben Mullins in Ann Arbor. The songs were recorded in 1998 and 1999.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:03
2 1:01
3 1:16
4 1:07
5 0:46
6 1:21
7 1:20
8 0:55
9 1:38
10 0:47
11 0:54
12 0:42
13 1:00
14 1:00
15 0:54
16 0:48
17 0:52
18 0:59
19 0:46
20 0:30
21 6:41
blue highlight denotes track pick