Claire Booth / Christopher Glynn

Edvard Grieg: Lyric Music

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Edvard Grieg's songs and short piano pieces are played from time to time, but this enjoyable Avie release may be the first in which they have been given what might be called a historically informed performance. It's not that pianist Christopher Glynn plays an old instrument: he does not. Instead, the program is based on those that Grieg and his wife, Nina Hagerud, would perform in spaces much like Potton Hall, Suffolk, where the excellent acoustics of this recording were produced. One of those recitals was given for Queen Victoria in 1897. The program here offers a complete song cycle, Haugtussa, Op. 67, together with other songs and small piano pieces. The big Grieg song hit, Jeg elsker Dig (I Love You), Op. 5, is here (sample this as a reference point), but many of the songs are elegant little masterworks that haven't often been performed. The great advantage of this kind of program, and one that would have been obvious to Grieg, is that the links between the songs and the piano pieces, which are evocative little images in the vein of Mendelssohn's Songs Without Words (which Grieg surely knew), are made apparent. The ball is tossed between Glynn and soprano Clare Booth, with each seeming to add to what the other has just expressed. Booth is not the most ravishingly beautiful voice, but she is right for this project, which follows nicely on the pair's previous album of music by Percy Grainger: Grieg inspired the young Grainger. A recommended album in which all the pieces seem to fit together.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 01:45 Amazon
2 01:02 Amazon
3 01:27 Amazon
4 02:04 Amazon
5 01:33 Amazon
6 01:53 Amazon
7 01:40 Amazon
8 03:10 Amazon
9 02:30 Amazon
10 02:06 Amazon
11 03:10 Amazon
Haugtussa, Op. 67
12 03:19 Amazon
13 02:12 Amazon
14 02:52 Amazon
15 03:41 Amazon
16 02:21 Amazon
17 01:47 Amazon
18 02:19 Amazon
19 06:03 Amazon
20 02:33 Amazon
21 01:17 Amazon
22 01:28 Amazon
23 01:17 Amazon
24 06:35 Amazon
25 04:17 Amazon
26 04:18 Amazon
27 01:45 Amazon
28 01:19 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick