Various Artists

20 Ans De Musique Contemporaine Á Metz (20 Years of Contemporary Music at Metz)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A five-CD set with booklet containing premieres of important contemporary works, mostly orchestral. The set contains works by Rolf Gehlhaar ("Phase," 1972), Yoshihisa Taïra ("Radiance," 1973), Morton Feldman ("Piano and Orchestra," 1975), Pierre Boulez ("Rituel in Memoriam Bruno Maderna," 1976), Kazimierz Serocki ("Pianophonie," 1978), Iannis Xenakis ("Jonchaies," 1981), Michaël Levinas ("Les Rires du Gilles" ["The Laughter of Gilles"], 1981), Bernd Alois Zimmermann ("Musique Pour les Soupers du Ubu Roi" ["Music for the Suppers of King Ubu"], 1982), György Ligeti ("Magyar Etüdök" ["Hungarian Etudes for 16-Voice A Cappella Choir"], 1983), Paul Méfano ("La Scéne III," 1984), Klaus Huber ("2. Streichquartett Erster Satz" ["Second String Quartet, First Movement"], 1985), Younghi Pagh-Paan ("Nim," 1987), John Cage ("ASLSP Organ 2," 1987), Luigi Nono ("A Carlo Scarpa Architetto Ai Suoi Infiniti Possibili" ["To Carlo Scarpa, Architect, To His Infinite Possibilities"], 1987), Mauricio Kagel ("Quodlibet," 1988), Carlos Roqué Alsina ("Suite Indirecte," 1989), Bruno Maderna ("Giardino Religioso" ["The Religious Garden"], 1989), and Hans Zender ("Furin No Kyo" [literal translation: "Wind Bell Stillness Mute"], based on a Zen text sung in four languages, 1989).