• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Over a period of ten months the Japanese trio Kousokuya recorded ten hours worth of material. From these sessions, guitarist Jutok Kaneko, bassist/singer Mick, and drummer Ikurou Takahashi picked four tracks that made up their debut album, 1st. For its CD reissue, the label P.S.F. added a 15-minute bonus track. The music of this group is deeply rooted into Tokyo's indie rock underground. Fans of Acid Mothers Temple's psychedelic guitar flights, High Rise's raw garage power, and the mystic wails of Fushitsusha's Keiji Haino will be surprised to find all these elements in Kousokuya's music. The original set was split into two vinyl sides each starting with a long piece and ending with a shorter one. The latter category is a rather tight form of songwriting. The epics have more of an "instant composition" feel, although macrostructural elements are obvious -- and the bonus track, "Suffering Broken Song," is as written-down as Cream's famously overstretched live songs. The lyrics are suitably dark and psychedelic. The rhythm section goes through a few breathtaking free-form moments in "The Miracle." Otherwise it provides a steady backdrop for Kaneko's mad guitar solos ranging somewhere between Thurston Moore's noise delirium and Makoto Kawabata's perverted vision of acid rock. "The Dreams of the Recollections," the shortest track at six minutes 42, provides the highlight of the set thanks to its primitive three-note riff and Takahashi's insistence on playing anywhere but on the downbeat.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
blue highlight denotes track pick