1+1 = Heartache

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

1+1 = Heartache is a single to Sekiden's first long-player, Junior Fiction. The Australian group presents four '80s pop/new wave-sounding tracks that keep your toes tapping throughout the short duration of the single. Sekiden drives the tracks through the influence of the thick pop of Weezer and the palm mutes of Rick Springfield. The synths sprinkled on top of the thick chords and harmonized vocals make this single stand out a bit. To keep with the light fun of the music, it must be noted that in the title track, "1+1=Heartache," there must have been a conscious decision made to lift the chords and vocal rhythms of "Making Our Dreams Come True (Theme From Laverne and Shirley)," but with different lyrics. "Mastersystem" gives a nod to the Muffs and Apples in Stereo with its driving verses and swirling pop choruses. Sekiden offers up a decent single as a preview to Junior Fiction.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:40
2 2:40
3 2:32
4 2:00
blue highlight denotes track pick