Hieronymus Praetorius

Biography by

Considered the founder of seventeenth century German organ music, Hamburg church musician Hieronymus Praetorius was also a copyist and music editor, compiling important collections of monophonic German…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Joseph, lieber Joseph mein Miscellaneous (Classical)
In dulci iubilo Vocal Music Choral
Magnificat Quinti Toni for organ Choral
Cantate Domino canticum novum, motet for 8 voices (Magnificat octo tonorum 1602, No. 4) Choral
O vos omnes Vocal Music
Magnificat primi toni, for organ Keyboard
Christ, unser Herr, zum Jordan kam, for organ Keyboard
Magnificat quarti toni, motet for 8 voices (Magnificat octo tonorum 1602) Vocal Music
Laudate Dominum, motet for 8 voices Choral
Work(s) Miscellaneous (Classical)
Allein zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, à 4 Vocal Music
Jubilate Deo omnis terra, motet for 12 voices (Cantiones sacrae 1607, No. 62) Vocal Music
Dies Absoluti, hymn for organ Keyboard
Maria zart von edler Art Miscellaneous (Classical)
O bone Jesu, motet for 6 voices (Cantiones sacrae 1599, No. 20) Vocal Music
Te lucis ante terminum 1, Versus (Im Basso) Miscellaneous (Classical)
Magnificat quinti toni, motet for 8 voices Choral
Gaudete Omnes for 6 voices Vocal Music
Angelus ad pastores ait, motet for 8 voices Choral
Nunc dimittis, motet for 8 voices Choral
See All Compositions