Derringer, Bogert & Appice / DBA / Rick Derringer / Carmine Appice / Tim Bogert

The Sky Is Falling

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released on Fuel 2000, The Sky Is Falling is actually a reissue of the Doin' Business As... Derringer, Bogert & Appice album that was first released in Europe in 2001. In this short-lived power trio, guitarist and producer Rick Derringer reportedly “replaced” Jeff Beck in the “follow-up” to 1973’s Beck, Bogert & Appice album (their rhythm section is, of course, made up of ex-Vanilla Fudge members bassist Tim Bogert and rock & roll über-drummer Carmine Appice. Nah. While this doesn’t reach those lofty heights. Strictly out of its time and element -- from the songs to the production -- as a hard rock album with well-written compositions, excellent vocals, and musicianship, it works very well. Hearing the set in 2001 was just plain weird given what else was going on in popular music at the time. Hearing it in 2009 with its new title feels almost right, since rock music is deliberately trying to return to the 1970s. These cats are all strict super-choppers and studio professionals. All of them have been recording since the 1960s. The fact that this music continues to have teeth is one thing, but that it’s well arranged and raucously played, and offers consistent hooks, excellent melodies, and vocal harmonies is quite another. Standout tracks here include the title track, “Blood from a Stone,” and the scorching “Dawn of Love.” The Fuel 2000 edition also includes a pair of bonus tracks, with the band offering live versions of two Derringer classics, “Hang on Sloopy,” which he originally recorded with the McCoys in the late '60s, and his now ubiquitous party anthem, “Rock ‘n’ Roll Hoochie Koo.”

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:15
2 4:23
4 3:59
6 4:17
7 4:07
9 3:33
10 6:30
11 8:11
blue highlight denotes track pick