Witold Lutosławski

Biography by

Lutoslawski was the preeminent Polish composer in the closing decades of the 20th century and was recognized around the world as a modernist master.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Concerto for Orchestra 1950 Concerto Orchestral
Funeral Music, for string orchestra 1954 Orchestral
Symphony No. 3 1972 Symphony
Cello Concerto 1966 Concerto
Chain 2, dialogue for violin & orchestra 1984 Concerto
String Quartet 1964 Chamber Music
Venetian Games, for chamber orchestra 1960 Orchestral
Variations on a theme of Paganini, for piano & orchestra 1941 Concerto
Symphony No. 2 1966 Symphony
Piano Concerto 1987 Concerto
Mini Overture for brass quintet 1978 Chamber Music
Dance Preludes (5) for solo clarinet, harp, piano, percussion & strings (arranged from version for clarinet & piano) 1955 Concerto
Symphony No. 4 1993 Symphony
Les espaces du sommeil, for baritone & orchestra 1975 Vocal Music
Variations on a theme of Paganini, for 2 pianos 1941 Keyboard
Symphony No. 1 1947 Symphony
Dance Preludes (5) for clarinet & piano 1954 Chamber Music
Polish Carols (20), for voice & piano (later also with female chorus & orchestra) 1946 Vocal Music
Partita, for violin, orchestra & obbligato piano (arranged from version for violin & piano) 1985 Concerto
Partita, for violin & piano 1984 Chamber Music
See All Compositions