The Leaf Library

Biography by

Mellow post-rock-meets-indie quintet inspired by English landscapes.
Read Full Biography

Artist Biography by

Daylight Versions
The Leaf Library's mellow indie pop-meets-post-rock began in the mid-2000s, when former Saloon songwriter/guitarist Matt Ashton and singer Kate Gibson started making music together. After relocating to London from Reading, they were joined by bassist Gareth Jones and guitarist Ben Smith. The band's 2008 debut single Losing Places -- which featured a remix by Isan -- was released by the Dutch label the Hooter Listens and introduced the Leaf Library's gently intricate sound, which recalled the quieter side of Yo La Tengo and Stereolab as well as more experimental bands like Movietone. By the time the band issued the 2010 single Activity/Carousel on France's Beko label, drummer Lewis Young completed the Leaf Library's lineup. Different Activities, Similar Diversions, a compilation of tracks and home recordings, arrived in 2011. The 2014 single The Greater Good was part of Where It's at Is Where You Are's singles club and featured a more active sound, a trend that continued on the early 2015 split single with Smile Down Upon Us, Walking Backward/Magical Breath. For their debut album, the Leaf Library worked with a group of friends including Hot Chip's Rob Smoughton and Alasdair Maclean of the Clientele and Amor de Dias. Daylight Versions, a set of songs inspired by the English coast, the weather, and the sea, as well as the music of Can, Talk Talk and Broadcast, arrived in October 2015.