The Jelly Jam

Biography by

Prog rock power trio formed in 2001 by the three remaining members of Platypus.
Read Full Biography

Artist Biography by

Following the dissolution of prog rock supergroup Platypus in 2000, three of the group's members went on to form the similarly minded power trio the Jelly Jam. Singer/guitarist Ty Tabor (King's X), bassist John Myung (Dream Theater), and drummer Rod Morgenstein (Dixie Dregs, Winger) continued Platypus' legacy for progressive, cinematic rock, signing with Inside Out Music to deliver their self-titled debut in 2002. A follow-up album called Jelly Jam 2 arrived in 2004, though the band remained relatively inactive for the rest of the decade as the members returned to their primary projects. The Jelly Jam reconvened in 2011 for their third album, Shall We Descend, then again in 2016 for the concept album Profit.