Sofia Gubaidulina

Biography by

Gubaidulina became a renowned composer through such works as In Croce (1979), Offertorium (1980), Rejoice (1981), and Seven Last Words (1982).
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
The Seven Last Words, for cello, bayan & strings 1982 Chamber Music
Preludes (10) for cello 1974 Chamber Music
Chaconne for piano 1963 Keyboard
In croce, for cello & organ (or bayan) 1979 Chamber Music
Rejoice!, sonata for violin & cello 1981 Chamber Music
Musical Toys, piano pieces (14) for children 1969 Keyboard
Canticle of the Sun (Sonnengesang), for cello, 2 percussionists & chorus 1997 Choral
De profundis, for bayan 1978 Chamber Music Keyboard
String Quartet No.4, with tape 1994 Chamber Music
Offertorium, concerto for violin & orchestra (3 versions) 1980 Concerto
Piano Sonata 1965 Keyboard
Introitus, concerto for piano & chamber orchestra 1978 Concerto
Silenzio, pieces (5) for bayan, violin & cello 1991 Chamber Music
Bassoon Concerto, for bassoon & low strings 1975 Concerto
The Garden of Joy and Sorrow, for flute, viola & harp 1980 Chamber Music
In tempus praesens, concerto for violin & orchestra 2007 Concerto
Light and Darkness (Hell und Dunkel), for organ 1976 Keyboard
Serenade, for guitar 1960 Chamber Music
Invention, for piano 1974 Keyboard
Hommage à T. S. Eliot, for soprano & octet 1987 Vocal Music
See All Compositions