Rebecca Clarke

Biography by

Rebecca Thacher Clarke was a pioneering female musician and composer of the early twentieth century. Her father, Joseph Clarke (an American living in England), was a cruel domestic tyrant whose abusive…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Sonata for viola & piano 1919 Chamber Music
Passacaglia on an Old English Tune, for viola/cello & piano 1941 Chamber Music
Morpheus, for viola & piano 1917 Chamber Music
Trio for violin, cello & piano 1921 Chamber Music
Lullaby, for viola & piano 1909 Chamber Music
I'll bid my heart be still (after an Old Scottish Border Melody), for viola & piano 1944 Chamber Music
Chinese puzzle, for violin & piano 1921 Chamber Music
Pieces (2) for viola & cello 1918 Chamber Music
Midsummer moon, for violin & piano 1924 Chamber Music
Shy One, for voice & piano 1912 Vocal Music
Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale for viola & clarinet Chamber Music
The Seal Man, for voice & piano Vocal Music
The Aspidistra, for voice & piano 1929 Vocal Music
Come, oh come, my life's delight, for voice & piano Vocal Music
Infant joy, for voice & piano Vocal Music
The Cloths of heaven, for voice & piano Vocal Music
Lullaby, for violin & piano 1909 Chamber Music
Untitled Piece for viola and piano (1917-1918) 1917 Chamber Music
Dumka for violin, viola & piano 1941 Chamber Music
Lethe, for voice & piano Vocal Music
See All Compositions