Louis Andriessen

Biography by

Dutch composer Louis Andriessen is one of the most innovative and influential composers of the late 20th and early 21 centuries.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
De Staat for 2 sopranos, 2 mezzo-sopranos & chamber ensemble 1973 Vocal Music Chamber Music
On Jimmy Yancey for jazz ensemble 1973 Chamber Music
Hoketus for mixed ensemble 1975 Chamber Music
Hout, for tenor saxophone, marimba, guitar & piano 1991 Chamber Music
Worker's Union, for chamber ensemble 1975 Chamber Music
Overture to Orpheus, for harpsichord 1982 Keyboard
Racconto dall'Inferno, for orchestra 2004 Orchestral
De Stijl 1984 Opera
Writing to Vermeer, opera 1997 Opera
Image de Moreau, for piano 1999 Keyboard
Un Beau Baiser (A Beautiful Kiss), for chorus 1983 Choral
M is for Man, Music, Mozart, for voice & orchestra 1991 Vocal Music
De Tijd 1981 Choral
Trepidus, for piano 1983 Keyboard
Facing Death, for saxophone quartet Chamber Music
Anachronie II musique d'ameublement to the Memory of Satie, for oboe & orchestra 1968 Concerto
Garden of Eros, for string quartet 2002 Chamber Music
Passeggiata in Tram in America e Ritorno Vocal Music
Vergeet me niet Chamber Music
Mysteriƫn, for orchestra 2013 Orchestral
See All Compositions

Artists Moods

Artists Themes