A Dutch symphonic metal ensemble led by Epica guitarist/songwriter Mark Jansen, Mayan (stylized as MaYaN) engage in a richly detailed blend of neo-classical metal and uncompromising death metal. With lyrical themes that run the gamut from politics and religion to philosophy and meditation, the seven-piece group employ multiple in-house vocalists and regularly enlist help from special guest singers. Founded by Jansen in 2010, the supergroup also features current and former members of God Dethroned, After Forever, Kamelot, Delain, Sons of Seasons, and Orphanage. Mayan issued their debut studio LP, Quarterpast, via Nuclear Blast in 2011, followed by Antagonise in 2014, the latter of which included guest spots from Floor Jansen (After Forever, Nightwish) and Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion). Bovio became a full-time member of the group, ...
Read Full Biography

Artists Moods

Artists Themes