La Reunion Norteña

Biography by

+ Follow Artist

This norteño group from Chihuahua who remains faithful to the region's style has found a significant following throughout Mexico and the U.S.
Read Full Biography

Artist Biography by

Y de Nuevo... Para Ti
La Reunion Norteña are a Northern Mexican group from Chihuahua who perform in a traditional style. Their corridos, rancheras, polkas, and ballads are classic norteño, devoid of many of the pop and urban trappings displayed by other musicians from the region. This group, comprised of veteran professional musicians, used their early, independent recordings to supplement the popular live act that won them fans a gig at a time, whether at private or block parties, weddings, fairs, or in opening slots for "name" artists. By the time they issued 2013's Y de Nuevo...Para Ti (their first major-label outing on Fonovisia's Azteca imprint and first charting recording), they had won an established audience thanks to their independent releases, social media presence, and live shows, and marked the beginning of an extended run inside the Top Ten on the Mexican Regional Albums and Top Latin Albums charts that ran through 2017's Enamorandote.

The quintet came together in 2008, founded by professional players, three of whom were natives of Chihuahua. All five had been performing and recording with other acts since their teens. Accordionist Juanito "El Torro" Fabela had previously worked with his father in the famed Los Vaqueros del Bravo. Lead vocalist Rogelio "El Morro" Martínez had been second voice and bajo sexto player with Los Rieleros del Norte. Orlando Colchado, from Durango, playing bajo sexto in this group, had previously played with Luis Sanchez, while drummer Edgard Muñoz and saxophonist Antonio Crispin (the only non-Mexican, he was born in Fort Worth, Texas) had both been with Adolfo Urias.

The group's debut offering, Y de Nuevo...La Reunión, was released independently in 2009. Given the enthusiastic statewide response it received (with no promotion other than live shows), La Reunion Norteña came to the attention of the Azteca Music Group, which signed them in early 2011. Their electrifying stage presence and faithfulness to the Chihuahua style on accordion and saxophone contributed to the label's interest. Their second offering, Te Amo, was issued later in the year, and its title track single reached the top of the Mexican radio charts. The album's success led to extensive tours of Mexico and the United States.

Y de Nuevo...Para Ti was released in 2013; it was their first recording to hit the Billboard Mexican Regional Music charts and landed in the Top 20. Their touring presence increased, especially in the U.S., where they found themselves not only headlining shows but also festivals.

A Paso Firme
The group signed with Fonovisa later in the year and began recording at the beginning of 2014. Their next single, a cover of Afid Ferrer's "A Mujer Material," landed in the Top Five of the Mexican Regional Songs chart. The album A Paso Firme was released in May. Despite continued extensive touring, La Reunion Norteña released more than half-a-dozen singles, including the charting "Llevate Todo (2015)," "En Que Falle" (2016), and "Amigos Para Que" (January 2017). The latter single's follow-up long-player, Enamorandote, was issued by Fonovisa in the summer of 2017. In June of the following year, La Reunion Norteña issued the pre-release single and video for "Entonces Juguemos," which racked up 400,000 views on YouTube before issuing the full-length Y por Siempre La Reunion in August.