Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga

Biography by

+ Follow Artist

Arriaga's brief life left few compositions on which to base his reputation. However, he showed a mastery of all of the traditional compositional forms.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
String Quartet No. 2 in A major 23:36 Chamber Music
Los Esclavos Felices, overture (for a lost opera) 1819 07:41 Orchestral
Symphony in D major 1824 26:42 Symphony
String Quartet No. 1 in D minor 25:03 Chamber Music
String Quartet No. 3 in E flat major 24:46 Chamber Music
Overture, Op. 20 1820 11:02 Orchestral
Overture for nonet in F minor, Op. 1 1818 08:13 Chamber Music
O salutaris, motet for 3 voices & string quintet 04:34 Vocal Music
Herminie, cantata for soprano & orchestra 15:56 Vocal Music
Tema variado en cuarteto, for string quartet, Op. 17 08:12 Chamber Music
Hymen, viens dissiper une vaine frayeur, aria for soprano & orchestra (or piano) 05:22 Vocal Music
See All Compositions