Jean Sibelius

Biography by

Sibelius (1865-1957) was Finland's leading post-Romantic composer of symphonies and a national icon, regarded as the foremost Nordic symphonist of the 20th century.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Finlandia, tone poem for orchestra, Op. 26 1900 Orchestral
Valse triste, for orchestra (from Kuolema), Op. 44/1 1904 Orchestral
Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47 1903 Concerto
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43 1901 Symphony
Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82 1919 Symphony
Karelia Suite, for orchestra, Op. 11 1893 Orchestral
Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105 1924 Symphony
Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 63 1910 Symphony
Symphony No. 6 in D minor, Op. 104 1923 Symphony
Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39 1899 Symphony
En Saga, tone poem for orchestra, Op. 9 1892 Orchestral
The Swan of Tuonela, tone poem for orchestra (Lemminkäinen Suite No. 3), Op. 22/3 1893 Orchestral
Pohjola's Daughter (Pohjolan tytär), symphonic fantasy for orchestra, Op. 49 1906 Orchestral
Tapiola, tone poem for orchestra, Op. 112 1926 Orchestral
Lemminkäinen Suite: Four Legends from the Kalevala, for orchestra, Op. 22 1895 Orchestral
Symphony No. 3 in C major, Op. 52 1904 Symphony
Night Ride & Sunrise (Öinen ratsastus ja auringonnousu), symphonic poem for orchestra, Op. 55 1908 Orchestral
The Tempest, incidental music for vocal soloists, chorus, orchestra & harmonium, Op. 109 1925 Orchestral
String Quartet in D minor ("Voces Intimae"), Op. 56 1908 Chamber Music
Pelléas et Mélisande, incidental music for orchestra, Op. 46 1905 Orchestral
See All Compositions