Harrison Birtwistle

Biography by

Birtwistle is an important British composer known for his adherence to an uncompromising modernist aesthetic.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Tragoedia for chamber ensemble 1965 Chamber Music
Linoi, for clarinet & piano 1968 Chamber Music
Gawain, opera 1991 Opera
Punch and Judy, opera 1966 Opera
Orpheus Elegies, for countertenor, oboe & harp 2003 Vocal Music
Earth Dances, for orchestra 1986 Orchestral
Panic, for saxophone, drum kit & orchestra 1995 Concerto
Triumph of Time, for orchestra 1972 Orchestral
Secret Theatre 1984 Chamber Music Orchestral
Gawain's Journey, for orchestra 1991 Orchestral
Ritual Fragment, for chamber orchestra 1990 Orchestral Chamber Music
Io Passion: Nocturnes and Aubades, for basset clarinet & string quartet 2003 Chamber Music
Nine Settings of Celan, for soprano, 2 clarinets, viola, cello & double bass 1989 Vocal Music
Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum 1977 Chamber Music
Settings (9) of Lorine Niedecker, for soprano & one instrument 1998 Vocal Music
Five Distances for 5 instruments 1992 Chamber Music
The Mask of Orpheus, opera 1973 Opera
Interludes (4) for a Tragedy, for basset clarinet & tape 1968 Avant-Garde Music
Antiphonies for piano & orchestra 1992 Concerto
Chorale from a Toy-Shop, for 5 unspecified players 1967 Chamber Music
See All Compositions