Guillaume Lekeu

Biography by

Guillaume Lekeu, Belgian composer of the late nineteenth century, was born near the small town of Verviers. His father, a wool merchant, sent the young Guillaume to a school in Poiters, where the boy…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Sonata for violin & piano in G major 1892 Chamber Music
Quartet for piano & strings (unfinished) 1888 Chamber Music
Andromède for soloists, chorus & orchestra 1891 Choral
Poems (3) for soprano & piano 1892 Vocal Music
Trio for piano, violin & cello in C minor Chamber Music
Adagio for string quartet & string orchestra, Op 3 1891 Concerto
Andante for piano Keyboard
Molto adagio for string quartet "Mon âme est triste jusq'à la mort" 1887 Chamber Music
Larghetto for solo cello & ensemble 1892 Chamber Music
Sonata for cello & piano in F major (completed by d'Indy) 1888 Chamber Music
Méditation for string quartet in G Chamber Music
Andante più tosto adagio for violin & piano Chamber Music
String Quartet in G major (1888) 1888 Chamber Music
Sonata for cello & piano in G major Chamber Music
Menuet for string quartet Chamber Music
Ophélie (Symphonic Etude No. 2) 1890 Orchestral
Adagio molto espressivo for 2 violins & piano Chamber Music
Fantasy on Two Popular Angevin Airs for orchestra (or piano 4-hands) 1892 Orchestral
Fantaisie Contrapuntistique sur un Cramignon Liègois, for chamber orchestra 1890 Orchestral
Adagio religioso for piano Keyboard
See All Compositions