Biography by

A bittersweet dream pop outfit with a penchant for wistful girl-boy harmonies and frantic guitar riffs.
Read Full Biography

Artist Biography by

London-based outfit Exlovers combine dreamy pop hooks with soft, girl-boy vocals that are as bittersweet as their name suggests. The band was formed in the back end of 2008 by Peter Scott (guitar, vocals), Laurel Sills (vocals, keys), Danny Blackman (bass), Chris Woodhead (guitar), and Brook Rogers (drums), who all met in London, although most members are originally from the South-West of England. In a matter of weeks, the five-piece had written a set of songs and begun playing shows with a clear ambition and shared desire to perform their music in front of audiences, eventually playing 100 times within a year. The sweet boy-girl vocals of Scott and Sills resulted in a wistful lament when apart, while together their softly sung harmonies became a staple of their melancholic sound. Collectively, the band was influenced by '90s Brit-pop and shoegazers My Bloody Valentine, which was reflected in their reverb washed guitar hooks and frantic riffs. Further inspirations came from across the Atlantic, with Elliott Smith and Pavement instantly identifiable as influences on their dreamy and cathartic music.

The band wasted no time in making themselves heard and were subsequently signed by U.K.-based Chess Club Records, the label launched by White Lies and Mumford & Sons, and released their debut single “Just a Silhouette” in December 2008. Following extensive touring with the likes of I Was a Cub Scout and Golden Silvers, the band was picked up by indie label Young & Lost Club and went on to play gigs with Noah and the Whale and Emmy the Great in 2009. They recorded their debut EP, You Forget So Easily (2009), with producer Stephen Street (the Smiths, Blur), which pieced together four well-toured songs such as the title track and the fast-paced, floor-filler “Incomplete.”

Debut album Moth was released in 2012 and featured many of the band’s well-toured songs such as “You’re So Quiet” and “Blowing Kisses. They were given a new lease on life by producers Demian Castellanos and Jimmy Robertson (Florence + the Machine, Big Pink) at Rockfield Studios, Wales and sat seamlessly alongside newly written tracks “Unloveable” and opener “Starlight, Starlight.”