Original Soundtrack

Young Adult [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The soundtrack for director Jason Reitman's fourth feature film arrives front-loaded with enough classic alternative rock to launch the first of hour of a rejuvenated 120 Minutes. Stocked with late-'80s/-'90s mainstays like the Lemonheads ("It's a Shame About Ray"), Dinosaur Jr. ("Feel the Pain"), Veruca Salt ("Seether"), Teenage Fanclub ("The Concept"), and the Replacements ("Achin' to Be"), and boasting a latter half that's relegated to Juno composer Mateo Messina's atmospheric, instrumental takes on genre classic like "Epic" (Faith No More), "Black Hole Sun" (Soundgarden), and "Even Flow" (Pearl Jam), Young Adult should find even the most jaded Generation X'ers reaching for their fire sticks and flannels. .

blue highlight denotes track pick