Uncle Green


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

You is a coming out of sorts for Uncle Green. The quartet's first release on DB Records, You features crisper production, more complex songwriting, and more focused musicianship than the band's two previous albums. Mixing jangly rockers like "Pass It By" and "I Wonder Why" with vulnerable ballads like "Terrified" and "Permanent Love," Uncle Green finally arrived at the winning album formula it would keep through the remainder of its career. Lyrically, You shows the band's youth, going overboard on the irony ("If the lightning just strikes you as too much to take") in certain songs. But the singing/songwriting team of Matt Brown and Jeff Jensen comes of age on You, packing the record with little-heard pop gems.

blue highlight denotes track pick