Jim & Jesse

Y'All Come: The Essential Jim & Jesse

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Y'All Come: The Essential Jim & Jesse is a 20-track collection that culls highlights from the duo's decade at Epic Records in the '60s, featuring such hits and favorites as "Better Times A-Coming," "Ballad of Thunder Road," "Yonder Comes a Freight Train," "She Left Me Standing on the Mountain," "Stay a Little Longer," "Memphis Tennessee" and "Truck Drivin' Man." This isn't the set for traditional bluegrass fans, although there is plenty of that. Instead, the set is divided between bluegrass and the duo's brief flirtation with straight-ahead country, giving a good picture of their time at Epic. Either way, it's a fine set, showcasing some of the best music Jim & Jesse ever recorded, and it's one of the best anthologies of their Epic years yet assembled.

blue highlight denotes track pick