Various Artists

XFM's the Remix Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

As its title implies, XFM's the Remix Album features remixed versions of some of the songs getting heavy airplay on the U.K. alternative radio station XFM. The track selection is relatively diverse considering that this is an electronically inclined collection; Charlatans UK's dark, fuzzy "My Beautiful Friend [Jagz Kooner Remix]," New Order's spacious "Crystal [Lee Coombs Remix]," and Pulp's synth pop-inspired "Sunrise [All Seeing I Middle of the Road Mix]" retain enough of their original sound within these remixes to make sure the set remains fresh. This is an important consideration, considering that the collection stretches over three discs. Highlights include almost totally unrecognizable versions of Starsailor's "Good Souls [Two Lone Swordsmen Remix]," David Gray's "Sail Away [Rae & Christian Remix]," and Ocean Colour Scene's "July [Forza Moderna Mix]," as well as Radiohead's "Planet Telex [Karma Sunra Mix]," Roots Manuva's "Dreamy Days [Super Furry Animals Remix]," and Playgroup's "Number One [Black Strobe Vocal Remix]." Not all of these tracks might be absolutely essential, even for fans of the bands and remixers included, but it is a solid set with enough bright moments to make it a good set for anyone partial to hearing these songs in a different context.

blue highlight denotes track pick