Works (Best of Saga)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Works is two disc compilation from Germany, containing all the best material from Saga. Because of the country's high regard for this Canadian band's progressive/arena rock style of music, the group ended up moving there and calling it home, thus releasing this hits necessity. One of the best songs on the album kicks thing off, entitled "Gotta Love It," which is only found on this release. Every one of Saga's gems can be found here, including "How Long" and the philosophical "What Do I Know?" The searing charge of "The Flyer" followed by the pent up energy of "On the Loose" are disc one's greatest assets. The second CD is just as solid, with the simplicity of "Scratching the Surface," from the Heads or Tales album, while the complex pace of "Slow Motion" showcases their European influences. Also present is the spirited version of "Wind Him Up" from their live album, In Transit, and a charming rendition of Peter Gabriel's "Solsbury Hill" done with surprising finesse. The 28 songs cover nine of their albums, focusing mainly on their early '80s releases and smartly ignoring most of the material from Wildest Dreams, a pop disaster. Saga displays both ends of their broad musical spectrum throughout this album. Their dark, nighttime sound sparkles on songs like "Chase the Wind" and "As I Am," while their keyboard and guitar integration explode on "A Brief Case" and "The Vendetta." This is surely the best examination of this talented band's music, and is aptly titled.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:36
2 3:58
3 3:39
4 4:22
5 5:54
6 6:02
7 3:35
8 4:08
9 3:37
10 4:20
11 5:15
12 4:12
13 4:52
14 5:17
15 4:15
16 5:26
17 3:25
18 4:01
19 3:25
20 4:24
21 6:35
22 4:29
23 4:46
24 4:18
25 4:58
26 5:50
27 5:48
28 2:19
blue highlight denotes track pick