Pearl Jam


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

If anything was indicative of Pearl Jam's free-wheeling, spiritually tinged 1998 album Yield, it was frontman Eddie Vedder's willingness to make his earnest, Springsteen-inspired confessional "Wishlist" the centerpiece of the record. Indeed, it's one of the simplest songs Vedder has ever written. Whereas on previous clenched-fist crowd-pleasers he tried to carry the world's burdens on his own shoulders, Vedder takes a step back here to echo the simple sentiments interwoven in everyday life: "I wish I was a messenger/and all the news was good." Drummer Jack Irons makes one of his final recorded appearances on a smashing live version of Yield's "Brain of J," while non-album track "U" achieves power pop magnificence with an insanely catchy melody and a late-blooming, funky instrumental breakdown.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:29
3 2:59
blue highlight denotes track pick