Toshiko Akiyoshi

Wishing Peace

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ironically after Toshiko Akiyoshi and Lew Tabackin broke up their West Coast big band, relocated to New York and put together a new orchestra, they seemed to get less publicity than previously. In fact, since this 1986 recording for their own Ascent label, Akiyoshi's ensemble has made relatively few albums. For the Ascent LP, the 16-piece big band performs a remake of "Feast in Milano" (which is more complex than Akiyoshi's earlier version), Tabackin's ballad "Unrequited Love" and Akiyoshi's three-part sidelong "Liberty Suite." The soloists include trombonist Conrad Herwig, Walt Weiskopf on tenor, trumpeters John Eckert and Brian Lynch, altoist Jim Snidero, flutist Frank Wess and Tabackin on tenor and flute. All of the Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra's recordings are well worth acquiring.

blue highlight denotes track pick