The Cure

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Wish Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

On the surface, Wish sounds happier than Disintegration, and the sunny British Invasion hooks of the hit single "Friday I'm in Love" certainly seem to indicate that the record is a brighter affair than its predecessor. Dig a little deeper and the album reveals itself to be just as tortured, and perhaps more despairing. Granted, the sound of the record, with its jangling guitars and simple arrangements, is more immediately accessible than the epic gloom of Disintegration, but nearly every song finds Robert Smith wracked with depression. Unfortunately, the even-handed production makes the record sound very similar, so it is less compelling than it might have been, but there are a handful of gems ("High," "A Letter to Elise," "Wendy Time," "Friday I'm in Love") that make the record worthwhile.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Cure 06:51 SpotifyAmazon
2 The Cure 03:37 SpotifyAmazon
3 The Cure 06:38 SpotifyAmazon
4 The Cure 07:44 SpotifyAmazon
5 The Cure 05:13 SpotifyAmazon
6 The Cure 04:24 SpotifyAmazon
7 The Cure 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
8 The Cure 05:33 SpotifyAmazon
9 The Cure 05:14 SpotifyAmazon
The Cure 05:55 SpotifyAmazon
11 The Cure 04:43 SpotifyAmazon
The Cure 06:46 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick