Various Artists

Winter Classics

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Winter Classics is a budget-priced collection of excerpts from classical pieces with a distinct winter theme. Among the selections are Debussy's "Snowflakes Are Dancing," and Mozart's "Sleigh Ride," Tchaikovsky's "December, February, January" from The Seasons, portions of Vivaldi's "Winter," and "Winter," from Ashmore's "Four Seasons." Among the performers are Richard Stoltzman, Andre Previn, Arthur Fiedler, Vladimir Spivakov and the Boston Pops Orchestra. For casual classical fans who want a collection of mood music, this is a good collection, but more serious listeners will find its sampler nature frustrating.