The Lovin' Spoonful

What's Up, Tiger Lily?/Hums of the Lovin' Spoonful

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A truly unique and wonderfully American band, the Lovin' Spoonful released nearly all of their creative legacy between 1965 and the end of 1966. The first album, Do You Believe in Magic, hit in 1965, with the second, Daydream, and the third, Hums of the Lovin' Spoonful, arriving in 1966. Also in 1966, the group delivered the soundtrack to Woody Allen's first film, What's Up, Tiger Lily? This set combines that soundtrack with Hums on a single disc, and truthfully, it works mostly because Hums, which contained such classic Spoonful numbers as "Lovin' You," "Rain on the Roof," "Coconut Grove," "Nashville Cats," and "Summer in the City," is such a fine album. Aside from the minor song "Pow" and a redo of "Fishin' Blues," the music on What's Up, Tiger Lily? is of the instrumental soundtrack variety. Things went downhill after 1966 for the Lovin' Spoonful. The two albums the band released in 1967, You're a Big Boy Now (the soundtrack to a film written and directed by Francis Ford Coppola) and Everything Playing, show a band that was creatively exhausted. You're a Big Boy Now did generate a couple of good songs, the title tune and the lovely "Darling Be Home Soon," while Everything Playing yielded the joyous "She Is Still a Mystery" and "Six O'Clock," but these were really the last great gasp of a truly great American band.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:18 Amazon
2 02:27 Amazon
3 02:06 Amazon
4 02:28 Amazon
5 02:06 Amazon
6 02:00 Amazon
7 01:49 Amazon
8 02:03 Amazon
9 02:43 Amazon
10 02:30 Amazon
11 02:25 Amazon
12 04:10 Amazon
13 02:29 Amazon
14 01:55 Amazon
15 02:29 Amazon
16 02:22 Amazon
17 01:45 Amazon
18 02:42 Amazon
19 02:13 Amazon
20 02:44 Amazon
21 02:36 Amazon
22 02:54 Amazon
23 02:44 Amazon
24 02:23 Amazon
25 02:17 Amazon
26 03:41 Amazon
27 02:43 Amazon
28 02:40 Amazon
29 02:28 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick