Weird News from an Uncertain Future

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Weird News from an Uncertain Future is the full-length debut by the Euro-dance supergroup 32Crash, a collaboration from Front 242 singer Jean-Luc de Meyer and Len Lemeire and Jan D'Hooghe of the Belgian dance duo Implant. Although the dystopic science fiction lyrics of Weird News from an Uncertain Future come heavily laden with concept and back story -- briefly, the album posits the trio as space alien emissaries from the year 2107, bringing present-day Earth the news of its imminent self-inflicted destruction -- the music itself could not possibly be more retro. After a brief instrumental opener, "Time to March On," that sounds like vintage Tangerine Dream, the album is an unapologetic throwback to the darker side of 1980s synth pop: Black Celebration-era Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, Fad Gadget, Clan of Xymox, Nitzer Ebb, and Laibach fans will all find Weird News from an Uncertain Future comfortingly familiar, all booming electronic beats, rubbery synth bass, and vintage electronics. The surprise, perhaps, is how catchy many of these songs are: the cover of Suicide's "I Remember," with its ping-ponging sequencers and de Meyer's whispered evocation of Alan Vega's urgent shriek, sounds uncannily like a great lost Ultravox single, and "Spacemen and Poets" features a tremendously hooky singalong chorus. Aging darkwave goths and synth nerds unite: Weird News from an Uncertain Future could well be your new favorite album.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 1:10 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:47 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:16 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
3:17 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:21 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:42 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
9 1:36 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:14 Amazon
11 3:12 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:40 SpotifyAmazon
13 0:49 SpotifyAmazon
14 2:46 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:30 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:12 SpotifyAmazon
2:45 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:36 SpotifyAmazon
19 0:50 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick