We Know You Suck: Blatant Localism/Valley of the Yakes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

We Know You Suck compiles J.F.A.'s earliest recordings for the Placebo label, as well as 12 live and compilation-only tracks. The Blatant Localism EP, so important as an artifact from the initial unification of punk and skateboarding, appears here in its entirety; it's joined by the Valley of the Yakes LP, where surf anthems like "Baja" and deceptively simple, Clash-inspired screeds ("Preppy," "Johnny D.") illustrate the breadth of J.F.A.'s definitive skatepunk sound. Even if it's plagued by shoddy fidelity, the live material is nevertheless exciting as it encompasses the band's youth, aggression, and immediacy. Among the compilation tracks, alternate versions of "Preppy" and "Great Equalizer" are standouts. This release is the fourth volume of Alternative Tentacles' Skate Rock Reissue series; it includes some fabulous photography from the era, as well as liner contributions from the Vandals' Jan Akkerman, legendary skateboarder Steve Caballero, and Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster.

blue highlight denotes track pick