Nevil LeBec

We Are Nevil LeBec

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Despite their Canadian-sounding group name, Nevil LeBec hails from Fremont, Ohio and is spearheaded by former Wuzz Band lead singer Guy Schelkopf and guitarist Danny Begley. With Guy handling all the vocal and harmonica work, Begley doubling up guitar and bass, and both of them handling songwriting and drum programming duties, this is a home studio project with some real life to it. Despite presence of the drum machine, the material stays firmly in roots-music territory, with "Rising Sun," "Shades of Blue," "Boot Hill" and "Runaway Train" keeping things bluesy, while "I Wonder," "Jed Rockin' the Hills," "Nevils Rock" and "Hell of a Guy" wave the rock & roll flag. Begley's guitar work and Schelkopf's vocals and harp work merit attention, aided greatly by the pair's songwriting chops. With drum programming that's less stiff or the inclusion of live, breathing musicians, their next effort could be even more promising than this one.