Visions of Jazz: A Musical Journey

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Visions of Jazz: A Musical Journey Review

by John Bush

Both beginning and ending with tracks uniting Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington, Visions of Jazz: A Musical Journey is a two-disc set tracing the evolution of jazz. It hits most of the major artists -- Count Basie, Coleman Hawkins, Benny Goodman, Lester Young, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonious Monk, Bud Powell, Miles Davis, Art Blakey, Stan Getz, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane -- and even some major jazz vocalists, including Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday, Nat King Cole, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington and Cassandra Wilson. Though not all the tracks are necessarily of the best caliber by each artist, this is a good general introduction to America's most important musical form of the 20th century.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Louis Armstrong / Duke Ellington 03:59 Amazon
2 Sidney Bechet / Art Hodes 02:57 Amazon
3 George Lewis & His Ragtime Jazz Band 03:46 Amazon
4 Kay Starr 03:25 Amazon
5 Art Hodes 03:18 Amazon
6 Duke Ellington 04:37 Amazon
7 Coleman Hawkins & His All Star Jam Band 03:20 Amazon
8 Fats Waller 02:35 Amazon
9 Benny Goodman 03:06 Amazon
10 Count Basie 08:16 Amazon
11 Lester Young 03:01 Amazon
12 Bobby Hackett Orchestra 02:53 Amazon
13 Frank Sinatra 02:15 Amazon
14 Duke Ellington 03:04 Amazon
15 Louie Bellson 07:38 Amazon
16 Dizzy Gillespie / Charlie Parker 02:46 Amazon
17 Sarah Vaughan 05:15 Amazon
18 Thelonious Monk 03:36 Amazon
19 Bud Powell 03:02 Amazon
20 Dexter Gordon 02:55 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick