Renée Fleming / Marco Armiliato


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This collection of arias and scenes from verismo operas will be a must-have for fans of Renée Fleming. Fleming is in excellent voice, singing with her characteristic immaculate technique, creamy tone, warmth, and dramatic incisiveness. The disc should also appeal to fans of obscure verismo because it includes, in addition to some of the standards, a good selection of rarities, including excerpts from Leoncavallo's La bohème and Zazà, Zandonai's Conchita, Cilea's Gloria, and Giordano's Siberia. These are mostly roles Fleming is unlikely to have an opportunity to sing on-stage, so it's especially valuable to have her insightful and beautifully executed interpretations recorded here. Besides being balanced between familiar and more obscure repertoire, the album gives Fleming a chance to shine in music spanning a broad range of emotions, from the wrenchingly poignant to the girlishly lighthearted. In "Senza Mamma," which opens the album, Fleming sings with aching grief, and shapes the aria with grace and dignity. She is also memorably touching in "Angioletto, il tuo nome?," an extended scene from Zazà. Among the most appealing selections are the excerpts from La Rondine, which show Fleming at her most joyfully radiant. Marco Armiliato, leading Coro e Orchestra Sinfonico di Milano Giuseppe Verdi, provides exemplary accompaniments, attentively responsive to the singer, but at the same time full of individuality and character. Decca's sound is clean, present, and well-balanced.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Suor Angelica, opera
1 04:31 Amazon
Iris, opera (melodramma) in 3 acts
2 03:36 Amazon
La Rondine (The Swallow), opera
3 05:48 Amazon
Lodoletta, opera in 3 acts
4 04:26 Amazon
La Wally, opera (dramma musicale) in 4 acts
5 03:08 Amazon
La bohème, opera
6 04:36 Amazon
7 01:54 Amazon
8 02:06 Amazon
9 03:20 Amazon
Zazà, opera
10 10:31 Amazon
Manon Lescaut, opera
11 05:35 Amazon
Conchita, opera
12 02:41 Amazon
Gloria, opera
13 03:23 Amazon
Fedora, opera
14 04:10 Amazon
Turandot, opera
15 06:47 Amazon
Siberia, opera
16 02:40 Amazon
La Rondine (The Swallow), opera
17 02:59 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick