Elis Regina

Vento de Maio

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is a posthumous compilation of some works by Elis Regina, put together with no evident concept in mind other than throwing together some songs composed by the mineiros of the Clube da Esquina and mixing them up with other composer's works. There are songs by the dance-pop composer Guilherme Arantes (launched by Regina), a track by Adoniran Barbosa where she is featured, "Tiro Ao Álvaro," which becomes a hit due to her voice; songs by Gilberto Gil ("Rebento," "Se Eu Quiser Falar com Deus"), and songs by the mineiros Lô Borges, Márcio Borges, Ronaldo Bastos, Luiz Guedes, Thomas Roth, Milton Nascimento, and Fernando Brant, including "Vento de Maio," "O Trem Azul," "Nova Estação," "O Que Foi Feito Devera." Vento de Maio is a good album with several hits and good interpretations, but it lacks the emotional impact of an album released by the artist himself.

blue highlight denotes track pick