Ursula 1000

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Ursadelica Review

by David Jeffries

DJ Ursula 1000 has quite the ear for tunes, and knows how to mix 'em -- the extragroovy mix album Ursadelica is the proof. The first quarter of Ursadelica could be mistaken for an album of the DJ's own sampadelic and tres chic productions. Not a problem, but not surprising enough for the nonbelievers. Things get tricky right around Kraak en Smaak's "One of These Days," with tracks getting loopier and fading in and out, most likely due to the DJ's twiddling. It's the gateway to what most makes the album worth hearing -- Ursula's love of cheeky, smiley disco. Swirling around the room -- or maybe headphones -- Frank de Jojo's "Come Home Baby" is a tasty disco-house treat while Nasty Tales revives the campy chestnut "Come on a My House" with a light breakbeat. Great stuff, and Ursula points it out with his tension-building mix, but why the drab Mexicali jazz afterward? Tinkling pianos with bongos should be trying the nerves of even the ESL Records faithful by now, and luckily Ursula gets off it pretty quickly. Faux rare groove, electro-influenced lounge, and some truly unclassifiable dance music brings the party to a close. It's been four years since Ursula 1000 released his last mix -- All Systems Are Go-Go -- and he's learned a lot since then. The riskier moments are as innovative-sounding as this DJ has ever been, but giving the listener one or two tracks they'll likely skip nearly blows it. Everything else is glitter and gold, so time your bathroom break right, because Ursadelica is an almost triumph.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Ursula 1000 00:34 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Dr. Rubberfunk 03:04 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Hal 9000 03:03 SpotifyAmazon
4 Ursula 1000 feat: Carlos Jean 03:09 SpotifyAmazon
5 Ursula 1000 feat: En:no / Ed Royal 03:09 SpotifyAmazon
6 Ursula 1000 feat: Lemon 03:43 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Kraak & Smaak 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Frank de Jojo 03:13 SpotifyAmazon
9 Ursula 1000 feat: Nasty Tales and Their Orchestra 04:29 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Gaijin a Go-Go 04:43 SpotifyAmazon
11 Ursula 1000 feat: Tata Vasquez 05:05 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Settebello Unlimited 04:26 SpotifyAmazon
13 Ursula 1000 feat: Skeewiff 03:19 SpotifyAmazon
14 Ursula 1000 feat: The Bees 03:08 SpotifyAmazon
15 Ursula 1000 feat: Joe Bataan 03:43 SpotifyAmazon
Ursula 1000 feat: Torpedo Boyz 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
17 Ursula 1000 feat: Moston & Malente 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
18 Ursula 1000 feat: Fort Knox Five 05:37 SpotifyAmazon
19 Ursula 1000 feat: Qypthone 03:52 SpotifyAmazon
20 Ursula 1000 feat: Don Tiki 05:39 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick