Various Artists

Uncovered [EMI]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Jason Ankeny

While it's not uncommon for labels to assemble collections of original recordings later sampled, twisted, and reinvented on hit hip-hop and dance tracks, the two-disc Uncovered is merely a scattershot collection of originals that have been covered in a more traditional fashion over the intervening years. There's nothing terribly special about that idea, and there isn't anything terribly special about this 38-song set, either. It's basically just an excuse to slap together some warhorse cuts from the Universal catalog, and while there's a lot of great music here, there's nothing particularly rare, nor is there any real effort to create a cohesive listening experience. Accordingly, it's tough to imagine who the target audience for Uncovered might be, as the music fan with tastes eclectic enough to appreciate both Andy Williams ("Can't Get Used to Losing You") and the Ohio Players ("Love Rollercoaster") probably already has all of this material in his collection. Other highlights, all of them seemingly drawn from a hat, include Shuggie Otis' "Strawberry Letter 23," Gloria Jones' "Tainted Love," and Minnie Riperton's amazing "Les Fleur."

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
World Party 04:54 Amazon
2 Rotary Connection / Minnie Riperton / Nuyorican Soul 05:42 Amazon
3 Ohio Players 02:49 Amazon
4 Cher 05:26 Amazon
5 The Miracles 02:52 Amazon
6 The Delfonics 01:58 Amazon
7 The 5th Dimension 03:13 Amazon
8 Marvin Gaye 06:15 Amazon
9 Dan Hartman 03:42 Amazon
10 The Spencer Davis Group 02:52 Amazon
11 Gloria Jones 02:09 Amazon
12 Smokey Robinson & the Miracles 03:00 Amazon
13 The Isley Brothers 02:28 Amazon
14 John Holt 02:56 Amazon
15 Jorge Ben 02:58 Amazon
16 Tito Puente 04:11 Amazon
17 Andy Williams 02:20 Amazon
William DeVaughn 04:44 Amazon
19 Minnie Riperton 03:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick