Toni Braxton

Ultimate Toni Braxton

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Most modern-day female pop singers start their careers doing their sexy, stylish dance-oriented material then settle into a career as an adult contemporary crooner. Toni Braxton didn't follow that route. She started the '90s singing elegant, refined quiet storm ballads and ended it singing sleek dance-pop tunes as she slinked around in skimpy outfits. She wasn't the only one of her peers to follow this trajectory -- Mariah Carey pretty much did the same thing, only to the extreme -- but it's a little odd to listen to Braxton evolve from the sophisticated urban contemporary crooner to oversexed R&B thrush, even if it's not a bad thing at all. One thing that elevated Braxton above her peers is that she was a controlled, powerful singer who rarely oversang, and she had a good selection of material, much of it written or co-written by Babyface. That's why her 18-track hits collection Ultimate Toni Braxton works well even through her shifts in style -- she is a confident enough performer to sell both the slow romantic ballads and material that swings harder. That's not to say that there aren't some slow spots here -- the previously unreleased cuts are no great shakes, and sometimes the abundance of slow numbers makes things sound too samey -- but she was one of the top urban soul singers of the '90s, and this is the album that illustrates why.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Toni Braxton 04:00 SpotifyAmazon
2 Toni Braxton 04:51 SpotifyAmazon
3 Toni Braxton 03:49 SpotifyAmazon
4 Toni Braxton 04:15
5 Toni Braxton 04:40
6 Toni Braxton 03:59 Amazon
7 Toni Braxton 04:26 SpotifyAmazon
8 Toni Braxton 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
9 Toni Braxton 04:09 SpotifyAmazon
10 Toni Braxton 04:28 Amazon
11 Toni Braxton 04:36 SpotifyAmazon
12 Toni Braxton 04:17 Amazon
13 Toni Braxton 04:00
14 Toni Braxton 04:16
15 Toni Braxton 03:47
16 Toni Braxton 03:38
17 Toni Braxton 04:31
18 Toni Braxton 03:35 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick