Petula Clark

Ultimate Petula Clark

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ultimate Petula Clark is a 21-track collection of British songbird Clark's biggest hits and best songs from the early '60s through the early '70s. Her sophisticated and warm voice was the perfect instrument for the songwriting talents of Tony Hatch and Jackie Trent; many of the songs here are written and produced by the underrated Hatch. The collection leads off with her biggest hit, "Downtown," and includes great songs like "I Know a Place," "Call Me," "Sign of the Times," and "Don't Sleep in the Subway." She split with Hatch in the late '60s and some of the songs she recorded after the split are here: "Kiss Me Goodbye," "The Song Is Love," and "Neon Rainbow," a great track from Memphis, the oft-overlooked classic record that she cut with Chips Moman in 1970. Along with the great music and a very generous track listing, the collection boasts remastered sound and extensive liner notes, making Ultimate Petula Clark the best single-disc Petula Clark disc on the market.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:07 Spotify
2 2:44 Spotify
3 2:53 Spotify
4 2:37 Spotify
5 2:27
6 2:47 Spotify
7 2:44 Spotify
8 2:57 Spotify
9 2:54 Spotify
10 2:19 Spotify
11 2:51 Spotify
12 3:17 Spotify
13 2:56 Spotify
14 1:57 Spotify
15 2:52 Spotify
16 3:55 Spotify
17 3:05 Spotify
18 3:28 Spotify
19 2:51 Spotify
20 3:54 Spotify
21 4:14 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick