Billy Preston

Ultimate Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Hip-O's Ultimate Collection may not have the original hit recording of "That's the Way God Planned It," due to licensing restrictions (it was recorded for the Beatles ill-fated label, Apple), but that's about the only thing missing from this near-definitive single-disc set. Over the course of 20 tracks, the collection chronicles every one of Preston's hits, from the funky "Outa-Space," "Slaughter," and "Will It Go Round in Circles" to the smooth, quiet storm soul of his duets with Syreeta ("With You I'm Born Again," "Go for It," "One More Time for Love"). Since it's quite a transition between the two extremes, fans of either side of the spectrum may not enjoy everything here, but it's nevertheless a nearly flawless collection, providing an accurate portrait of Preston's career. It is true that the lesser-known hits aren't as compelling as the smash singles, but this is still an entertaining collection, regardless.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:28 Amazon
2 04:09 Amazon
3 02:45 Amazon
4 03:24 Amazon
5 04:09 Amazon
6 02:35 Amazon
7 05:47 Amazon
8 03:19 Amazon
9 03:28 Amazon
10 03:10 Amazon
11 02:46 Amazon
12 03:16 Amazon
13 02:37 Amazon
14 03:48 Amazon
15 04:51 Amazon
feat: Syreeta
17 04:51 Amazon
feat: Syreeta
03:50 Amazon
feat: Syreeta
03:54 Amazon
20 03:41 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick