Ultimate Collection: In Good Company

Sly & Robbie

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Ultimate Collection: In Good Company Review

by Jo-Ann Greene

No rhythm section in history has impacted across the world's music scene as has Sly & Robbie. Their innovative playing style, studio experimentation, and pure production genius has propelled music to a whole new level, and their influence remains undiminished both in their homeland and abroad. In fact, it's virtually impossible to imagine modern music without them. Attempting to encapsulate their career on one disc defies logic, yet Ultimate Collection: In Good Company does not belie its series' title and can indeed be considered the ultimate collection. With excellent sleeve notes by Brian Chin, expert sequencing, and a keen attention to detail, this compilation presents the Riddim Twins in all their glory. Across 17 songs, the album brings to light the breadth of their accomplishments on both sides of the recording desk, all fired by the duo's unmistakable rhythms. And it's this very distinctiveness, even as Dunbar deserted his drum kit for syndrums and then synths, that skyrocketed the pair to superstardom. Already heroes at home, it was their work with Black Uhuru in the late '70s that brought them international acclaim. The pair estimated their rhythms have fired over 200,000 tracks, not including dubs or remixes, providing the fulcrum for songs across the musical spectrum, while their productions, too, brought them into contact with an ever-expanding segment of the international scene. Much of this set is drawn from the pair's seminal work during the 1980s. Their rhythms for Grace Jones were nothing short of shocking, for Gwen Guthrie stunning, and for Joan Armatrading, sublime. Even so, their rhythms were as accessible as they were innovative, yet the pair continued to push the envelope, and their own productions were oftentimes highly experimental. Bits & Pieces' cover of "Don't Stop the Music," for example, transmutes from a high-stepping, stealthy monster into an ominously threatening beast before emerging as a gala party piece, its studio wizardry at its most creative. However, Sly & Robbie weren't all musical twists and studio trickery; they were equally adept at laying down seductive rhythms, like the gently rocking pulses of Gregory Isaacs' "Soon Forward," the slowly percolating beats that underpin Joe Cocker's "So Good So Right," the bouncy rhythm that fueled Dennis Brown's infectious "Sitting & Watching," and the throbbing pulse of Prince Jammy's seminal "Rub-A Dub Version." Equally influential was their rhythm and production for Chaka Demus & Pliers' international smash "Murder She Wrote," the song that launched the bhangra craze. That cut from 1992 is the latest included here. Of course, that wasn't the end of the story, just this album's chapter. There's more to be told, but this remains the perfect excerpt.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Sly & Robbie feat: Half Pint 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
2 Sly & Robbie feat: Grace Jones 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
3 Sly & Robbie feat: Black Uhuru 05:01 SpotifyAmazon
4 Sly & Robbie feat: Gwen Guthrie 04:54 SpotifyAmazon
5 Sly & Robbie feat: Bits & Pieces 06:26 SpotifyAmazon
Sly & Robbie feat: Ansel Collins / Robbie 07:01 SpotifyAmazon
7 Sly & Robbie feat: Joan Armatrading 03:48 SpotifyAmazon
8 Sly & Robbie feat: Sly Dunbar 03:24 SpotifyAmazon
9 Sly & Robbie feat: Prince Jammy 06:29 SpotifyAmazon
10 Sly & Robbie feat: Ini Kamoze 03:00 SpotifyAmazon
11 Sly & Robbie feat: Gregory Isaacs 03:59 SpotifyAmazon
12 Sly & Robbie feat: Joe Cocker 06:31 SpotifyAmazon
13 Sly & Robbie feat: Chaka Demus & Pliers 02:36 SpotifyAmazon
14 Sly & Robbie feat: Tapper Zukie 04:05 SpotifyAmazon
15 Sly & Robbie feat: Compass Point All Stars 03:07 SpotifyAmazon
16 Sly & Robbie feat: Toots & the Maytals 07:02 SpotifyAmazon
17 Sly & Robbie feat: Dennis Brown 04:08 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick