Various Artists

Twogether Funk

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

EMI dishes out another 40-song set spread across two discs with Twogether Funk. Like the other volumes in the series (Twogether Disco, Twogether Love, Twogether Pop), the selection is rather wide-ranging when compared to like-minded compilations. Rather than focusing on an easily boxed style or time frame, Twogether Funk also incorporates a number of rap hits. The songs in question -- such as MC Hammer's "You Can't Touch This," Grandmaster Flash's "The Message," and Rappin' 4-Tay's "I'll Be Around" -- wouldn't have existed without the funk movement that reached full stride during the '70s. Frequent funk compilation inclusions like Funkadelic's "One Nation Under a Groove," Hot Chocolate's "You Sexy Thing," Lakeside's "Fantastic Voyage," the Fatback Band's "(Are You Ready) Do the Bus Stop," Bobby Womack's "Across 110th Street," and Curtis Mayfield's "Superfly" appear once again. Welcome inclusions that aren't quite on the same level popularity-wise are Instant Funk's "I Got My Mind Made Up," Afrika Bambaataa's "Reckless," Leroy Hutson's "Lucky Fellow," the Whispers' "It's a Love Thing," Shalamar's "Make That Move," Maceo Parker's "Got to Getcha," and Bohannon's "The Bohannon Walk." One problem with this highly enjoyable set is that, for the sake of space, several of these songs appear in their single edit forms, which takes the edge off a number of them.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:02
2 03:45
3 03:22
4 03:14
5 03:52
6 03:49
7 03:15 SpotifyAmazon
8 04:14
9 04:32
10 03:40
11 03:45
12 03:25
13 04:14
14 03:58
15 04:07
16 06:26
17 02:36
18 04:00
19 04:09 SpotifyAmazon
20 04:21
blue highlight denotes track pick