Perry Como

TV Favorites [Collectables]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

From 1948, when Columbia Records introduced the LP, to 1955, the dominant format for the 33 1/3 rpm disc was a 10" version that usually held eight tracks. As of 1955, the better-known 12" version came to the fore. RCA Victor Records, which initially opposed the LP, had given in by 1952, when its leading artist Perry Como issued several of the 10" albums. One was a newly recorded set called TV Favorites, a collection of song standards such as "You'll Never Walk Alone," "Summertime," and "Over the Rainbow." Another was a revamped version of his 1949 album of 78s, Supper Club Favorites (the Chesterfield Supper Club was the initial name of his radio and later television show). This one was a hits compilation featuring number one singles, like "Prisoner of Love," "'Till the End of Time," and "If," that Como had scored between 1945 and 1951. Collectables Records' 2001 CD compilation TV Favorites contains all eight tracks from both these original 10" LPs, plus eight tracks culled from Como's first 12" LP, 1955's So Smooth, for a 24-track collection running more than 73 minutes. The result is a good sampling of Como's early hits and his performances of some classic pop songs between 1945 and 1955. That said, the collection could have been better assembled. It would have made more sense to sequence the Supper Club Favorites tracks before the TV Favorites tracks to make the album roughly chronological. And rather than using the So Smooth tracks, it would have made more sense to use a third 10" album, A Sentimental Date With Perry Como. The earlier material presents Como as the belter he was in the 1940s and early '50s, while the 1955 recordings are much more in his relaxed style, and the difference is noticeable.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:51
2 3:15
3 2:44
4 3:35
5 3:27
6 3:11
7 3:14
8 3:14
9 3:31
10 2:50
11 3:16
12 3:06
13 2:50
14 3:14
15 2:47
17 3:15
18 2:24
19 2:47
20 2:36
21 2:19
22 3:42
23 3:04
24 2:45
blue highlight denotes track pick