Nick Drake

Tuck Box

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The tragically short life of British folksinger Nick Drake left behind some of the most hauntingly beautiful music of its kind, with Drake's softly heartbroken voice guiding his songs to transcendent places over the course of just three classic, near-perfect studio albums. Virtually unknown during his life, Drake's songs have been perpetually reborn in the decades following his mysterious death in 1974. With each new generation that discovers or rediscovers his songs, there have been subsequent repackagings of his minute back catalog, and by the time of Tuckbox, one of several comprehensive discography compilations, the vaults have been combed pretty thoroughly for unreleased material to pad the studio albums. Tuckbox offers more of the same, its 71 tracks including the entirety of classic records Five Leaves Left, Bryter Layter, and Pink Moon, as well as a bevy of tracks recorded before and after the periods that produced his studio work, tracks previously included on rarities collections like Time of No Reply and Made to Love Magic. Those uninitiated with Nick Drake's solemnly beautiful sounds can dive in happily with Tuckbox, which has a good percentage of all known recordings in one handy place. Completists looking for some new insights to Drake's sounds will come up empty-handed with this collection. Although the music at its best approaches flawlessness, almost all of it has been widely available long before this packaging.

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 0:32
2 3:17
3 0:43
feat: Molly Drake
5 2:43
6 1:56
7 1:13
8 2:50
9 0:24
10 2:59
11 2:41
12 2:13
13 2:37
14 3:43
15 2:02
16 3:53
17 1:01
18 2:24
19 2:59
20 3:26
21 2:54
22 3:08
23 4:26
24 2:20
25 2:00
26 2:50
feat: Molly Drake
blue highlight denotes track pick