Various Artists

True Spirit: Tresor Compilation

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Kingsley Marshall

Like Ninja Tune and Rephlex before it, Berlin's Tresor celebrated its decade in techno with a definitive album spread over three compact discs, drawing together previously vinyl-only releases from the likes of Eddie Flashin Fowlkes, Juan Atkins, Cristian Vogel, Blake Baxter, and the Advent with a scattering of rarities, the parentheses of the track listing provided by the label's debut, X-101's "Sonic Destroyer," and the 2001 release "Theme From Tiny Robot." Knowing their supporters' enthusiasm for rarities, the label gathers together some of the most sought-after material the genre has to offer, with the inclusion of Jeff Mills' previously unreleased "Hypnotist," Kelli Hand's "Mystery," and the much-sought-after Mike Dearborn take on "Game Form" certain to whip followers into a fever. A comprehensive 48-page guide to the history of the label completes this essential selection.

blue highlight denotes track pick