Various Artists

Très Chic: More French Girl Singers of the 1960s

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Following 2010's C'est Chic! French Girl Singers of the 1960s is a second volume of mostly French-sung pop from the era of the Ye-Ye girls. The 24 tracks include contributions from some of the most recognizable names of the genre, with standout tunes from legends like Françoise Hardy and France Gall, side tracks from actor/singers Brigitte Bardot and Anna Karina, and stellar sounds from lesser known names like Gillian Hills. The different sides of the Ye-Ye girl sound get equal coverage on Tres Chic. A smoky after-hours vibe comes through on tracks like France Gall's "Jazz a Go Go" and Delphine's "La Fermeture-Eclair," while more upbeat, zippy pop styles are represented with Annie Philippe's bounding "On M'a Toujours Dit," Pussycat's "Hymne au Soleil," and much of the rest of the compilation. A few songs sung in English show up as well, including "Tomorrow Is Another Day" by the U.K.-raised Gillian Hills, and the goofy, hipster bedhead of "7 AM," in which Jacqueline Taieb rustles through a groggy morning in a deep American accent. "Tut, Tut, Tut, Tut," yet another selection from Gillian Hills, also highlights the humorous side of French pop, building a cover of U.S. soul group the Lollipop's "Busy Signal" around an overly loud deadpan "tut, tut, tut" replicating the sound of a busy land line. Pretty much completely free of filler, Tres Chic is a thoughtfully researched and curated cache of French pop, digging deeper below the surface than most collections by looking beyond just the biggest names to reveal some deeper cuts.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:18
2 2:44
3 2:14
4 2:21
5 2:31
6 2:25
7 2:42
8 2:51
9 2:34
10 2:18
11 2:02
12 1:54
13 2:37
14 2:15
15 2:59
16 2:25
17 2:29
18 2:06
19 2:13
20 2:28
21 2:15
22 2:48
23 3:51
24 3:28
blue highlight denotes track pick