Bone Thugs-N-Harmony

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Tri-Pack Review

by David Jeffries

With a classic, a curio, and a clunker packed inside, this Tri-Pack collection of Bone Thugs-N-Harmony is still worthwhile if the price is right. Disc one of four is the reason, as it contains E 1999 Eternal, the Cleveland hip-hop group's stellar debut. Tracks like "Budsmokers Only," "1st of tha Month," and the Grammy-winning ballad "Tha Crossroads" are the songs this group built their legacy upon, with G-Funk-influenced beats and a talented, rotating group of rappers combining for what seemed to be hip-hop's future crew of choice. It would unravel over the coming years, which this Tri-Pack covers with a two-disc collection of screwed (slow-down) and chopped (cut-up) remixes of their biggest hits. Swishahouse Don Michael "5000" Watts is in charge on the remixing, and he's certainly one of the best, but after hearing these big numbers in their original form, newcomers might think of disc two and three as frustrating and odd. Disc four features the 2007 release T.H.U.G.S., a disappointing odds-and-ends collection that appeared the same year as the group's major-label comeback, the quite good Strength & Loyalty. Still, there's that mighty debut and the attraction of getting a wealth of their later work as a bonus, so think of it as lopsided or misguided and take a good look at the price.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 01:12 Amazon
2 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 06:20 Amazon
3 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony feat: The Notorious B.I.G. 07:18 Amazon
4 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 07:06 Amazon
5 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 05:07 Amazon
6 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 04:09 Amazon
7 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 04:23 Amazon
8 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony feat: Mariah Carey 04:47 Amazon
9 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 06:59 Amazon
10 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 06:23 Amazon
11 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony 05:48 Amazon
12 Bone Thugs-N-Harmony feat: Mo Thugs Family 05:04 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick