Bob Marley

Trenchtown Days: The Birth of a Legend

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This actually has the exact same 20 songs that comprised the previous Epic/Legacy CD release in 1990 that was called The Birth of a Legend, with no "Trenchtown Days" in the title. The differences? None, except that the track sequence is different, and the liner notes are different. And the liner notes are actually inferior to the ones found on 1990s The Birth of a Legend, concentrating on the sociopolitical context of the era in Jamaica, but not giving many details about the music. If you didn't pick this up first time around (even when these same 20 songs were released on two separate vinyl LPs in the late '70s), and are just concerned about the music, it's good. These really should be billed to the Wailers, not Bob Marley solo, but anyway it's very good ska and early reggae music from 1963-1966, showing their doo wop roots at its quaintest, but also going into full-bore ska on "Simmer Down" and "Dancing Shoes." The influence of group harmony early American soul is also heard to fine effect on cuts like "One Love," "I Made a Mistake," and "It Hurts to Be Alone."

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:48 Spotify
2 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:46 Spotify
4 2:41 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:25 Spotify
6 3:06 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:03 Amazon
9 2:54
10 2:52 Spotify
11 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:38 Spotify
13 3:10 SpotifyAmazon
14 2:24 SpotifyAmazon
15 2:59 Spotify
16 2:44 SpotifyAmazon
17 2:52 Spotify
18 2:22 SpotifyAmazon
19 2:24 Spotify
20 4:32 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick